Ajiya’s APC wins Abuja south Reps constituency seat 

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the Abuja South federal constituency, Alhaji Abdulrahman Ajiya, as winner of the Saturday, House of the Representatives seat of Abuja South constituency. 

Ajiya, who is the immediate past chairman of Abaji area council of Abuja, defeated the incumbent House of Representatives member for Abuja South constituency, Alhaji Hassan Sokodabo Usman Sokodabo of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who sought for second term.

The INEC returning officer for the Abuja South election, Prof, Wasiu O. Gabadeen, who declared the result on Monday, said that Ajiya of the APC scored 51,502 votes to beat his closest rival of the PDP, Sokodabo who got 47,376 votes. 

“After receiving votes and analyses of all the results. I, Prof Wasiu O. Gabadeen, the INEC returning officer for the Abuja south constituency election declared Abdulrahman Ajiya of the APC, haven satisfied with the requirements of the law is hereby declared as winner and returned elected, “he said. 

Prof. Gabadeen, who declared the results of the election at the collation centre at Kwali town hall amid tight security, added that the LP candidate scored 15,791 votes to come third.

The Abuja South federal constituency comprises four area councils of the FCT, which include Abaji, Kwali, Gwagwalada and Kuje.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button